This squirrel is ready for takeoff 

With JFK 50 Miler being a few days out, a few things go through my mind. 

It’s my birthday gift to myself. Ok, so maybe some people think it’s crazy. But I wanna learn what I’m made of. 

I’ve come to accept that to be great, you’ve got to take risks. Step out side your comfort zone. I’ve preached to my students that you can literally achieve anything you dream of. 

Well, time to start putting that into action. I want to prove to them by challenging yourself, you learn who you are. You can become who you want to be. I’ve wanted to come back to where my heart and my passion lies. 

 UltraRunning

I may have cheated on her with cycling, swimming, crossfit, even  5ks, 10ks, and half marathons. The marathon is a bitch to me, we’ve officially broken up for awhile. But ultra marathons, she’s my heart right now. . Nothing else comes close to the feeling of running for hours. The pure speed of a 5k is exhilarating , but I loathe the pain. 

I love to run long. 

So, this Saturday I get to do that. And if everything goes right, I get to say I’m an ultramarthoner, a 50 mile finisher. The best part of it all, I get to do it with 2 of my great friends. JP Caudill and Mike Wolfe will join me out there. How can you not be excited when you get to hang out with good friends for hours. 

I won’t count my chickens before they hatch. But I’m determined. Stubborn. Hardheaded even. I’ve want this badly. 

It’s taken me almost 10 years to get back here. To feel confident enough to risk going for 50 miles. I’m ready. 

Time for this little squirrel to fly. 

Leave a comment